Updated: October 13, 2013
CFA 12-43

Rodolfo Roman


In a night full of excitement, CFA 12 delivered a hard punch with the new CFA women’s featherweight champion Ashlee Evans Smith making history, a champion retaining his crown and two belts were awarded at the BankUnited Center in Coral Gables, Fl.

CFA 12 aired live on AXS TV featuring the main event CFA flyweight champion Josh Sampo who defeated Sam Thao via unanimous decision.

Although Thao’s skill was unorthodox, it wasn’t enough to keep away the champion from taking him down using his wrestling skills.

Sampo did it admit that he was surprised with Thao’s fight game, but the champion said he adjusted throughout the five rounds.

In the co-main event, the crowd support wasn’t enough for Luis Palomino to take home a win as the visitor Efrain Escudero defeated the Peruvian via unanimous decision.

In the third round, Escudero used his wrestling to take down Palomino and worked from the guard, which was enough for the judges.

In the fight of the night, Ashlee Evans Smith defeated the first mixed martial arts transgender fighter Fallon Fox by TKO in the third round at 3:15 to become the new women’s featherweight title and $20,000 richer.

Evans-Smith used her stand-up game in the beginning, but it was her wrestling that over powered. In addition, Fox seemed gassed out by the end of the second round. In fact, Smith took advantage as she got the mount with 10 seconds left in the second round. The ending to the round was controversial as many in the crowd thought it was over. The official clarified that the bell rang before the referee could make a decision as far as calling the fight.

An emotional Smith, received $20,000 and was crowned as the first CFA queen.

In a fight for the vacant CFA welterweight title, Valdir Araujo defeated Romario da Silva via submission at 4:05 in the second round.

In the first fight televised, Cuban American Yosdenis Cedeno defeated Torrence Taylor by way of unanimous decision.

Undercard results:

Hayder Hassan defeated Jason Jackson at 2:52 by referee stoppage in the third round.

Sabah Homasi defeated Michael Trujillo via KO at first round 4:25

Colby Covington defeated Jose Caceres via unanimous decision

Leo Valdivia defeats Felix Penalvers by unanimous decision.

Bentley Syler defeats Wascar Cruz via unanimous decision.

Diego Peclat defeated Saccerio Farrington by unanimous decision.

One Comment

  1. Tim Evans

    October 14, 2013 at 2:29 am

    Which Fight won the fight of the night, best finish, best knockout and so on.?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *